Über güber

DSC_0928

There are times when I get a bit “Asianed-out” when it comes to food. I feel terrible saying that as if I’m somehow betraying my roots and heritage, but the truth of the matter is that there are times when I don’t want anything which resembles noodles or rice, or anything stir-fried or braised. Of course there are times when I want nothing more than what I just listed, but sometimes, I want something different. Fortunately, YKL was visiting one weekend and she’s never really too fussy when it comes to food (No, I’m not saying she’s greedy…). Upon telling her that I was asianed-out, we set about buying ingredients to make Jucy Lucy’s (which I previously posted about here). Whilst buying the ingredients for the Jucy Lucy, I got some extra burgers with the view of freezing them so I had something to go to if I fancied a burger for dinner. However, I still wasn’t ready to go back to Asian food so they never made it to the freezer. Now, I wasn’t going to have another Jucy Lucy, so I started to think about what I could embellish my burger with; should I go traditional and a bit of sliced onion, tomato, lettuce, pickle, mustard and ketchup? Or should I jazz it up a bit as I still had some bacon and avocado in the fridge which needed using up. Then it came to me; I should make a Güber (Goober) Burger.

For those of you who don’t know what a Güber Burger is, it originated in Minneapolis (it had to come from the USA) and is basically a normal burger, with the exception of the burger patty topped with peanut butter. I believe the original Güber Burger also has a splodge of mayonnaise on it along with your more traditional lettuce and slices of tomato and onion. I’ll be honest, I’m not really that big a fan of mayonnaise – especially in a (beef)burger, and the thought of it combined with the peanut butter didn’t really appeal to me. However, I (mistakenly) thought that there was a fried egg involved and I could easily see that working – The sweetness of the peanut butter working in contrast to the savouriness of the egg (and soft runny egg yolk). With haste, I set about making the Güber Burger:

Now, I’m sure you all know how to cook a burger from scratch, so I’m not going to patronise you all by going through how to do so. Similarly, I’m more than confident that you’re all happy choosing whatever bun to house the burger in. Personally, I used whatever I could buy and I wasn’t going to make my own just for one burger – Not saying that there’s anything wrong in doing so, mind, only that for this particular occasion I didn’t feel the need to (see: I couldn’t be arsed to). So, with the burger cooked and the bun toasted, I slathered the top of the burger patty with some crunchy peanut butter (again, that was all I had it in my house) and as the burger was resting, I fried the egg. Seriously, if I wasn’t going to tell you all how to cook a burger, do you really expect me to tell you how to fry an egg?! Once the egg is done, place on top of the burger patty (topped with the peanut butter), bun lid on and that’s it, ready to eat.

DSC_0900 DSC_0901 DSC_0908 DSC_0911

And how did it taste? Well, the savouriness of the egg yolk in contrast with the sweet peanut butter and meaty burger was genuinely delicious. I was a bit apprehensive about eating it if I’m to be honest, and I even had a back up dish ready for dinner incase I didn’t like this. But that after that first bite, I knew that I was OK and really enjoyed this burger. In hindsight, smooth peanut butter would probably be nice than crunchy as it proved to be a bit *too* much textural crunch and again, some crispy bacon for added salty tang would have been nice addition. But overall, the old adage of how everything improves with a fried egg has applied itself in this case once again. As someone pointed out, it was essentially a burger with satay sauce (albeit less spicy) which is probably why the taste was strangely familiar to me and it wasn’t anything Asian which is what I craved. I’m still not entirely convinced that a traditional Güber Burger with the addition of mayonnaise and salad would work, but give it a fried egg and you’re well on your way to a nice dinner. I know it sounds a bit funky and scary and I’m sure that some of you will think that I’m frankly quite bonkers to even consider it, let alone eat it, but why not make it and try it for yourselves? I hope that you will all be as pleasantly surprised at its tastiness as I was.

DSC_0913

Leave a Reply

